| HOME |
Home Acknowledgement Appendix Download Complete Guidebook

The Clean Air Charter - A Business Guidebook

@

Quality environment is an issue close to the heart of the whole community. None of us tolerate foul air. As Asia's world city, Hong Kong should show the world our commitment to protecting the environment. The Government will take vigorous measures to make sustained improvement to air quality, hand in hand with the community. We are pleased to see the business sector stepping forward with the Clean Air Charter and publishing this Business Guidebook, which gives practical advice on how enterprises may help implement environment-friendly measures in their daily operations. We fully support this meaningful initiative.

We all live under the same sky. Let us work together with determination and shared responsibility for a cleaner and bluer sky.

The Honourable Donald Tsang
The Chief Executive


Through Project CLEAN AIR, we have successfully engaged the Government, business and the community into a collective clean air effort. The Clean Air Charter has also reflected the growing commitment of the business sector to contribute to cleaner air for all. I encourage all members of the business community to implement clean production and operation, working together to restore a blue sky to Hong Kong and the PRD.

David Eldon
Chairman, Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce (2005-2007)

@

@


Many local and international companies in Hong Kong have a shared common goal we must foster economic growth in ways that also protect our environment. Therefore, it is time for us to go beyond signing the Clean Air Charter to put these commitments into practices. I believe that businesses will find this Guidebook useful in formulating their own clean air programmes.

James Graham
Convenor, Hong Kong Business Coalition on the Environment (2004-2007)

@

@


@

Preface

Tackling air pollution requires the collective effort of the whole community. This is why the Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce (HKGCC) and the Hong Kong Business Coalition on the Environment (BCE) launched Project CLEAN AIR, to engage the Government, the business sector and the community together in promoting the clean air message.

The Clean Air Charter is the focus of Project CLEAN AIR. The Charter comprises six statements, representing the business sector's voluntary commitment to reducing air pollution. The HKGCC and BCE regularly organise educational and outreach programmes to support Charter signatories and to help promote the Charter. This Business Guidebook is a general reference to provide advice on implementing the Charter commitments through air quality management.

Air pollutants come from many sources, and it is not the intention of this Guidebook to cover every aspect of air pollution in every industry. Instead, we focus on ways of reducing emissions from businesses in common situations. The guide provides information on management measures that can be adopted for energy consumption, transport and general manufacturing processes. While not everything in this document may be applicable to all, we believe that every company can find a way to get started immediately, whether it is an energy-saving measure in the office or a comprehensive emissions reduction plan.

Please sign the Clean Air Charter if you have not already done so, and put the guidelines and recommendations of this Guidebook into practice. A blue sky for Hong Kong and the Pearl River Delta is possible. Together, we can make a difference!

Project CLEAN AIR Website
www.cleanair.hk

27 November 2006

@

Taking Action to Save Our Air

Protecting our air is the responsibility of every business!

The Clean Air Charter is a campaign that seeks the business community's involvement on a wholly voluntary, best effort basis. As businesses vary from sector to sector, the Charter is a statement of general principles to encourage the implementation of an energy and emissions reduction programme in accordance with the individual nature of each company.

Charter's Commitments

Relevant to Business Sectors

1. Operate to a recognized world class standard, or the standards established by the Hong Kong / Guangdong governments on emissions of air pollutants, even if it is not a requirement to do so here.

Industrial operations, power plants and businesses with direct emissions

2. Use continuous emissions monitors (CEMs) at significant sources, e.g. large and medium plants.

Large/medium industrial operationsand power plants

3. Publish information on energy and fuel use, as well as total emissions of air pollutants annually and timely, if emissions are significant.

All businesses

4. Undertake to adopt energy-efficient measures in their operations.

All businesses

5. Identify and encourage business-relevant measures to be taken on days when air pollution is high.

All businesses

6. Share air quality expertise in business with others.

All businesses

Air emissions reduction and energy conservation measures can be easily implemented and incorporated into daily business operations. To help businesses get started, this Guidebook introduces an Energy/Emissions Management (EEM) System that provides step-by-step guidance on how to reduce air emissions and energy consumption.

Specifically, the Guidebook provides:

  • An approach, and associated references, to enable readers to identify their companies' contributions to air emissions and energy consumption;
  • A strategy for establishing corporate emissions reduction or energy saving targets with the support of senior management;
  • Examples of energy saving and air emissions control measures; and
  • A system for monitoring and reporting performance.

An overview of the EEM Strategy is illustrated in the following flowchart. The EEM Strategy can be implemented on its own or as part of a company's Environmental Management System (EMS).

@

Download this Chapter (In PDF Format)

[ Back to TOP ]


 

Copyright ©2005 The Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce. All Rights Reserved.

| 回主頁 |

主頁 鳴謝 附錄 下載完整商界指南

《清新空氣約章》 商界指南主頁

香港特別行政區行政長官曾蔭權

優質環境是每個香港人都關心的議題,我們都不會容忍混濁的空氣。作為亞洲國際都會,香港更應向國際社會顯示我們對環境保護的承擔。政府和社會各界會繼續瓣漹蘑有力措施,改善空氣。我們喜見商界率先推展《清新空氣約章》,並出版這本《商界指南》,向企業提供實際可行的建議,在日常運作中落實有利環境的措施。我們全力支持這項饒有意義的行動。

在同一天空下,讓我們抱著決心,共同承擔,爭回一個更潔淨、更蔚藍的天空。


艾爾敦
香港總商會主席(2005-2007)

透過「清新空氣計劃」,我們成功地促使政府、商界和公眾攜手,為改善空氣質素這個共同目標而一同努力。商界對《清新空氣約章》的支持與日俱增,展示出我們的決心和承諾,定能在保護空氣方面做得更好。我鼓勵工商界所有成員推行清潔生產和更環保的營運模式,讓香港和珠三角再現藍天。

 

 

 


關正仕
香港商界環保大聯盟召集人(2004-2007)

很多在香港營運的本地和國際企業擁有一個共同的目標 - 我們要致力促進經濟增長,同時亦要保護環境。因此,我們應將《清新空氣約章》的承諾付諸於行。我相信,工商企業可以從這本商界指南中找到實用的建議,有助他們推行清新空氣的計劃。

 

 

 


解決空氣污染問題必須有賴整個社會的共同參與。故此,香港總商會與香港商界環保大聯盟發起「清新空氣計劃」,促請政府、商界及公眾攜手,共同致力改善空氣質素。

「清新空氣計劃」的重點,旨在鼓勵企業簽署《清新空氣約章》和自願地實踐約章內的六項承諾,藉此減低空氣污染。我們除了組織一系列教育和拓展活動,推廣約章的訊息和協助約章簽署者履行承諾,並編制這本商界實用指南,為企業推行空氣質素管理作具體的指引和一般參考。

由於空氣污染來自很多不同的源頭,本指南未能涵蓋和詳述所有行業在各方面造成空氣污染的原因和對策。故此,我們主要集中介紹普遍工商企業可以應用於能源、車隊以及一般生產流程的管理措施,藉此減少空氣污染物的排放。雖然本指南內所列舉的方法並非適用於所有企業,但各機構定能找到一些有用的建議,並即時著手推行節約能源和減少空氣污染物排放的措施。

如果 貴公司尚未是《清新空氣約章》的簽署機構,我們誠邀您簽署約章並實踐本指南的建議。只要我們一同努力,便可以令香港和珠江三角洲再現藍天!

清新空氣計劃網站
www.cleanair.hk

2006年11月27日


摘要

請即行動,保護藍天

改善空氣質素,企業有責!

《清新空氣約章》是一項工商界自願參與的項目,為改善空氣質素出一分力。由於各企業的性質不同,約章只提供基本原則,旨在鼓勵所有簽署機構按照本身的業務情況,實施減少能源消耗和空氣污染物排放的方案。

承諾宣言

相關工商企業

1. 在業務營運過程中,遵守國際認可或粵港兩地政府要求的廢氣排放標準,即使並未要求如此做。

直接排放污染物的工業操作、發電廠及企業

2. 對大中型排放源安裝連續性排放監控系統,以持續監察主要廢氣源頭的廢氣排放情況。

大型/中型工業操作與發電廠

3. 公布全年耗用能源和燃料的資料以及空氣污染物總排放量;如廢氣排放量龐大,亦應及時披露。

所有企業

4. 承諾在營運過程中採納節能措施。

所有企業

5. 制訂及推行適用於空氣污染指數偏高的日子、與業務有關的環保措施。

所有企業

6. 與他人分享改善空氣質素的專業知識。

所有企業

為協助企業履行約章的承諾,本指南所介紹的能源/排放管理系統,提供一系列減少能源消耗和空氣污染物排放的建議。企業可以按照指引內的步驟,在日常營運中採取有關的簡易措施。

整體來說,本指南提供:

  • 一個途徑以及相關參考資料,使企業確認因公司營運而引至能源消耗和空氣污染物排放的情況;
  • 具體策略,在管理層的支持下,制訂公司減少空氣污染物排放和節約能源的目標;
  • 節約能源和空氣污染物排放控制措施的例子;以及
  • 監察及報告系統。

以下流程圖概述能源及排放管理策略:

 

下載此章節 (PDF 版本)

[ 回到頁頂 ]


 

©2005香港總商會 版權所有 不得轉載